I've started my Spanish classes and that's been interesting to say the least. I have private lessons so that helps, but I still have a long way to go. I remember more than I thought I would, but apparently 7 Spanish teachers in 4 years of high school wasnt the best for me. Queen Anne had a Spanish teacher curse lol.

Because it's private lessons, my professor is focusing on Spanish that will be most useful to me during my travels. This has already proven helpful so I guess that makes it worth it.

As for family life, I have all my meals with my family so that has been a great opportunity to listen/speak Spanish. I've learned a lot about Ecuadorian culture which has been one of the best parts. We've discussed the (corrupt) government, the (corrupt) school system, family life and even religion. The Pope is currently visiting Brazil and the whole continent is going crazy. The news showed a 2 second clip of the Royal Baby before segwaying into "THE POPE IS IN OUR CONTINENT". It is by far the most important news story here. While Ecuador is a Catholic country, it is clear they take pride in Darwin's work in the Galapagos. I thought that was pretty cool. Side note about religion: "Yes, my last name is Polish, no, I'm not Catholic". That was a fun one to try to explain in Spanish during class. "Unitarian Universalist" doesn't have a Spanish translation as far as I know.

I've been spending my mornings before class visiting the city. Yesterday morning I visited Centro Historico and this morning I visited the Basilica. If you haven't already, check out the pictures on my Facebook. Both were beautiful and I plan to take the TeleferiQo (aerial tram) tomorrow morning. My family is obsessed with those and when I saw Quito had one I didnt think twice before deciding to go, regardless of the increased "foreigner" price.

That's all for now, buenos noches!




Leave a Reply.