Today I'm 25! Woop! Spent the morning working, but I did get to have a nice relaxing weekend in town and at the beach. I really cant complain.

I've been having a great time. Yes, the work is tough and a but strenuous but I can already see differences in my body I'm pretty excited about. We hiked the mountain again today and I didn't need to stop, just a steady pace all the way up. I'm also reforming my dancer's calves so thats a plus.

Speaking of dance, Friday night in town there was a "BowieFest" grade talent show going on and the dancers were so cute and adorable. I had a major flashback to dancing at BowieFest. It was weird.

Currently, there are four of us volunteering. Me, one Swiss girl and two German girls. They're all very sweet and I've enjoyed talking with them and learning about their cultures. We usually split a taxi and spend the afternoon after work either in town or on the beach. It's a great way to end the day before dinner.

I've done most of what I wanted to do on this island and plan on booking a day trip to Kicker Rock for snorkeling either this weekend or next weekend. They provide wetsuits which makes the water a bit more bearable.

I'm trying to take advantage of down time to talk Spanish with my family here at the lodge. I can see some improvement but I still want to get better. The family is a big one and they all have different roles. Jose runs the lodge and sends us to work, Eduardo lives in town and brings in new volunteers from the airport and their sister, Carmen, cooks when big groups are here. There are other members of the family that pass through too.

That's all for now :)


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.