(Written 8/17/13)

Yesterday marked halfway through my volunteer work. I've worked for 3 weeks and I have 3 more weeks of work. It seems like I just got here, too. It's crazy how quickly time is passing.

This week the group of high schoolers was with us for a few days. It made for some loud evenings, but overall it was fine. It's kind of nice to have a big group for work. The work this week was more of the same, however, yesterday we carried logs on our shoulders for a 20 minute walk partly uphill to plant trees. That was a task I never knew I was capable of, but it was a great workout for my shoulders and back. 

After work we were even treated to lobster for lunch. It was a really delicious. From what I gather, the National Park only lets people catch lobster at certain times, so it's a treat here on the islands even though there is plenty. Now if only we could eat the crabs...

On Tuesday I have a snorkel day trip planned to Leon Dormido, a rock formation just off the coast of the island. The highlight is all of the hammerhead sharks that swim around there. I never thought I would swim with sharks but I'm actually really excited! Everyone who goes says it's great.

I've met some really cool people while traveling and it's been great to really learn about other cultures. Between the family at Hacienda Esperanza and the various volunteers/travelers I meet, I've had some great conversations. I have a running list of contact information for when I return home :)

I'll post again after my snorkel trip!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.