What a really awesome past couple of days. I've been so busy I haven't had a chance to blog. I finished up my last week at La Hacienda Esperanza and can only say positive things about the whole experience. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did, but I had a great time. The family and friends I met were just incredible and I actually enjoyed the physical work everyday in the outdoors. I could go on and on and get sappy, but I'll just skip that part and say I had a fantastic volunteer experience.

When shopping at the grocery store earlier last week for snacks (coco cookies!) with Julia and Alex (German volunteers who I'm traveling with now), we found an Ecuadorian Monopoly game on the shelf and started to joke about all the different ways they could make a Galapagos version of the game. The more we joked, the more we realized we could make a great San Cristobal board game and so that's exactly what we did. 

Later that evening we got our creative juices flowing and created, San Cristobal Island Quest!™ and had a blast coming up with places and actions related to the island. Honestly, we need to produce that game and get it in the souvenir market.

On Thursday evening, we asked all of the members of the family to join us for dinner so we could say thank you for our time and experience. We had a big BBQ dinner where we surprised them with cake and beer (you can never go wrong with cake and beer).

After dinner we also surprised them with the game and asked them to play with us. That was so much fun and I think they really enjoyed it, especially the kids.

Again, I cant believe the six weeks passed so quickly and now I'm off for traveling. I'll update again tomorrow with my latest traveling adventures.

Chao!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.